Dear Members of the Fire Service

The Ohio Department of Commerce Division of State Fire Marshal (SFM) and the Ohio Department of Public Safety Division of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) are once again joining together to honor all who serve Ohioans through the fire service at the 41st annual Ohio Fire Service Hall of Fame and Ohio Fire Awards. As in the past, we would like to provide you with an opportunity to nominate persons and fire departments for recognition.

At this program, your fire department or a fellow firefighter may be recognized for their act(s) above and beyond their basic duties and responsibilities and for exemplifying the finest traditions of the fire service.

Each year, the awards program provides an opportunity for firefighters and organizations, on behalf of communities across Ohio, to participate in honoring the sacrifices made every day by their brethren. Whether it is training in the latest firefighting techniques or performing highly honed skills, the men and women who sacrifice for the safety of others will be recognized in this special ceremonial program.

The Ohio Fire Council is charged by the General Assembly with officially recognizing and commemorating exemplary accomplishments and acts of heroism by firefighters and other persons at fire-related incidents or similar events occurring in Ohio.

In addition, at the program, the Division of EMS recognizes individuals and departments that provide exemplary fire education and safety training through its annual Fire Awards Program.

If your nominee is selected as an award recipient, representatives from the Division of State Fire Marshal and the Division of EMS will be requesting high resolution photos for the awards ceremony. If you already have photos, you may send them with your nomination packet. Otherwise, you will be asked to gather these photos shortly after the recipients are chosen.

Please review the enclosed criteria documents and nomination form on the last page. Nominate an individual or organization that you believe meets the established criteria. Return completed nomination form(s) by Nov 5 to: or mail to: Division of State Fire Marshal, Attn: Tonia Smith, 8895 East Main Street, Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068